The TestDaF examination

TestDaF is a language certificate for foreign students, officially recognised by all German universities as proof of admission level language proficiency (TDN 4).
 It is therefore an alternative to the DSH certification.
 Like DSH, TestDaF examines the language skills necessary for studying in Germany.
 TestDaF is a centrally generated and corrected test of German as a foreign language. 
As such, you are guaranteed a fair evaluation. The standardised format supports focussed exam preparation.

The four disciplines:

  • reading
  • listening comprehension,
  • written expression
  • oral expression

are evaluated separately, in order to achieve a more detailed profile of the applicant’s language abilities.

Accordingly, the test consists of four sections.
 The exam results will be classified under three levels: TDN 3, 4 and 5, corresponding to the Common European Framework levels B2, C1 and C2.
 TDN 5 is the highest grade.
 Marks below TDN3 are not differentiated. TestDaF can be repeated as often as you feel necessary. The categorized results enable you to recognise the areas you need to concentrate on.
 The TestDaF Certificate has no expiry date and therefore, retains it’s validity over time.

If you have questions,
we answer with pleasure: